• The Cultural Fraternity Condemns Gauri Lankesh’s Murder

    September 9, 2017

    Narendra Dabholkar, M.M Kalburgi, Gauri Lankesh, and Govind Pansare/ Image courtesy: The Hindu

    Gauri Lankesh, veteran journalist in Kannada and a staunch critic of Hindutva politics, was assassinated by unidentified gunmen at her Bengaluru home on September 5th. As writers, artists, and activists committed to the principles of diversity, justice, and democracy enshrined in the Constitution, we condemn this political murder in the strongest possible terms.

    Lankesh's murder is certainly not an isolated incident. From all indications, it is part of a series of killings meticulously planned and implemented. On 20 August 2013, Dr. Narendra Dabholkar, president of Maharashtra Andha Shraddha Nirmoolan Samiti, was shot dead by two ‘unidentified gunmen’. Govind Pansare was fatally attacked by gun-wielding assailants on 16 February 2015. He died four days later. A well-known writer in Kannada and former Vice Chancellor of Hampi University, Dr. M. M. Kalburgi, was shot dead on 30 August 2015 at his home in Dharwad. The failure to act against the perpetrators, either out of design or incompetence, has emboldened the perpetrators and their supporters. Today they issue celebratory statements and further threats.

    It is not a mere coincidence that these groups or individuals are close to parties whose politics thrive on communal hatred. The modus operandi in all the four cases is exactly the same. All four are associated with similar jubilation in the right wing camp.

    The Karnataka government should respond immediately to the people's demand that the murderers of M.M. Kalburgi and Gauri Lankesh be convicted for their crime without any further delay.

    We urge fellow citizens to stand up and speak out against this heinous trend of intimidating and murdering our democratic polity.

    Anjum Rajabali

    Antara Dev Sen

    Arun Khopkar

    Ashok Vajpeyi

    Atamjit Singh

    Abhay Kanta

    Chaman Lal

    Chandrakant Patil

    Dalip Kaur Tiwana

    Danish Husain

    Ganesh Devy

    Ganesh Vispute

    Geeta Doctor

    Githa Hariharan

    Hansda Sowvendra Shekhar

    Jaya Mehta

    K. Satchidanandan

    Kanji Patel

    Keki Daruwala

    Kumar Ketkar

    Lakshmi Kannan

    Leonard Fernandes 

    Madhav Palshikar

    Manishi Jani

    Maya Krishna Rao

    Medha Patkar

    Megha Pansare

    Prabodh Parikh

    Pradnya Daya Pawar

    Rahman Abbas

    Rajmohan Gandhi

    Ranjit Hoskote

    Rashmi Sawhney

    Ritu Menon

    Sandesh Bhandare

    Sanjay Joshi

    Sanjay Pawar

    Sanjeev Khandekar

    Sharada Sathe

    Shekhar Pathak

    Sudhakar Yadav

    Vasant Abaji Dahake

    Vasudha Dalmia

    Veera Rathod

    Vidya Rao

    Vijaya Chauhan

    Vineet Tiwari

    Donate to the Indian Writers' Forum, a public trust that belongs to all of us.